Biscuity cookily goodness.

I used to work for a certain organisation that sold biscuits and muffins and coffee and nothing else. This organisation was founded by an American baking GENIUS who looks oddly like a life-size barbie doll.
Anyway while I worked there I bought the recipe book, and then a few years later when my husband and I started running a market coffee-and-cake stall I modified the recipes and sold them to my adoring fans.
SO if you are looking for a recipe that will make you swoon with delight while your arteries clang shut with a resounding SNAP, here you go.

The method is the same each time so I will write out one full recipe and then just the different proportions/ingredients for the others. Butter always refers to salted.

Orange and Chocolate biscuits.
In a mixing bowl or jug, preferably with a pouring lip, mix together (for these I whisk rather than bother sifting. If you have weevils – sift.)

2 and 1/2 cups of plain flour. (I use strong bread-making flour which absorbs more liquid so you may have to up your flour content, or the biscuits will spread out thinner and overcook.)

1/2 tspn salt

1 or 2 heaped tspns baking powder (2 for slightly more ‘cakey’ bikkies.)(And don’t for the love of mud get your baking POWDER mixed up with your baking SODA. I beg you.)

Grated zest of one orange. Eat the rest of orange.

In a large mixing bowl, preferably connected to a mixmaster, kenwood, or kitchen-aid, put

1 cup raw sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 or 4 tspns orange essence

250 gms softened butter.

Don’t have it too softened as it will ‘saturate’ the flour and the biscuits will spread during baking more, and be flatter and thinner. (Although you might like them that way.)

ALSO don’t have it too hard or when you turn the mixer on you will spray sugar across your entire kitchen with the resultant ickiness underfoot. Take my word for this.

Blend until it is a creamy/grainy paste (it ain’t going to go light and fluffy, whatever cooking writers say) and then add

2 eggs

and blend again until it is creamy.

Add the flour/orange zest mixture (See why you needed a pouring lip?) and

1 block chopped milk or dark chocolate. You may need to test out a few of the pieces of chocolate by eating them, in case the chocolate is poisonous. I use milk in this one.

Stir gently a few times before turning the mixer on again – or you will spray your entire kitchen with flour. Take my word for this.

Blend but do not overmix or yet again you will make biscuits that spread and are thin and flat.

Spread out a piece of cling wrap on your bench and spoon the dough onto it into a log shape. You might need to try some of the raw dough at this stage, in case it is poisonous. Roll the dough up in the cling wrap and freeze. When you want to bake any, slice a few 2cm-thick pieces off and bake on good-quality baking paper (I use Multix, Glad-bake or Coles) on a cookie sheet or flat shallow baking tray at 180C until the edges are browning and the centre is not wet-looking (damp, yes. Not wet) any more. Don’t overcook or they will be too crunchy. You may occasionally have to try a piece of frozen dough in case the freezer has turned it poisonous.

Enjoy! But don’t let anyone try any until you have checked them – for poison.

White chocolate Macadamia/pecan/walnut/whatever-nut-you-like

2 and 1/2 cups plain flour

1/2 tspn salt

1 or 2 heaped tspns baking powder

1 cup BROWN sugar

1/2 cup RAW sugar (opposite way to the orange biscuits.)

250 gms butter

3 or 4 tspns vanilla essence

2 eggs

1 block chopped white chocolate

1 cup toasted macadamias/pecans/walnuts/whatever.

Triple Chocolate biscuits.

2 and 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup GOOD cocoa. (I use Woolworth’s Home Brand as it is processed in Germany and you can TELL. FAR superior to Cadbury’s.)

1/2 tspn salt

1 or 2 heaped tspns baking powder

1 cup raw sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

250 gm butter

3 eggs

2 or 3 tspns vanilla essence.

1/2 block each chopped dark or milk and white chocolate. I use dark in this one.

Ginger and chocolate biscuits.

2 and 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tspn salt

1 or 2 heaped tspns baking powder

1/2 tspn each ground ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg

3/4 cup each brown and raw sugar

250 gm butter

2 or 3 tspns vanilla essence

2 eggs

125gms or so of roughly chopped crystallised ginger

1 block chopped dark chocolate

ENJOY!! I certainly do! (Occasionally – in moderation. I encourage responsible consumption of cookies.)

 

6 responses to “Biscuity cookily goodness.

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has managed to use their mixer as a sugar or flour distributor πŸ˜‰

    I approve of your rigorous anti-poison testing program.

    • Good to hear, have you got your official Poison-Inspector’s Badge?
      (I wrote Badger first up, which would be AWESOME. Badgers, come with the job, doncherknow?)

  2. Hmm YUM! My mother always taught me that if you break the biscuit, the calories leak out. (Apparently my arse didn’t get that memo though!!)

  3. LOL @ Pirra’s comment….I’m going to break all my biscuits from now on πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the recipes!

Leave a Reply

