Carrot Soup

‘Nother post – just a short one (and yes, it’s another food one).
Today I had a friend over for lunch (Cue cannibal jokes hur hur) and as well as some delicious sausage rolls, (one onion, 2 carrots, and large stick of celery including leaves, 2 cloves of garlic in food processor, add a few grinds of black pepper and a sprinkle of dried savory, one ‘tube’ of sausage mince from supermarket, mix together with a drizzle of worcestershire sauce, roll in frozen puff pastry. VERY nice. I would add a few gratings of nutmeg next time)
I made spicy carrot soup.

I diced and sauteed one onion and two large cloves of garlic in a slosh of olive oil, and then added 5 sliced carrots and stirred them around a bit. I stirred in about a half teaspoon each of ground coriander and cumin, and a level teaspoon of turmeric (I don’t know! I don’t measure!), a few grinds of pepper and a few dashes of tabasco. I let the spices cook a bit and then I also added a maissel chicken stock cube and…some water. Some. Yes. I don’t know! To cover the carrots with a cm or so to spare!

I simmered it until the carrots were tender, and then added a slosh of cream and pureed it with a stick-mixer.

It was really, really good. ALSO, it was like a delicious and cheap mild curry simmer-sauce, in case anyone was interested in making a big batch, eating some as soup, and cooking some diced chicken thigh fillets and maybe, I don’t know, some vegetable or other with the rest of it. Or chickpeas. It would work with chickpeas. And a handful of chopped fresh coriander, maybe a few toasted flaked almonds?

Turned out well for a never-made-before-experiment with a bag of cheap carrots, anyway.

UPDATE –
Today I made another, much bigger batch of the soup/sauce/stuff – Later I diced two chicken thigh fillets and browned them in a slosh of olive oil, added the florets of about half a large head of broccoli, and a thinly sliced half-a-green-capsicum, stirred them around a bit and then added half the soup I made today. I cooked it a bit longer (With the lid on as vegetable purees spit like seething volcanoes) and served it with steamed rice. DELICIOUS! And both the kids enjoyed it too, even the broccoli-despising one.

5 responses to “Carrot Soup

  1. Nanny Ogg-style cooking at its finest! Sounds delicious 🙂

  2. Just made it but used coriander and cumin seeds. Different to original but still awesome.

Leave a Reply

